top of page
Search
  • canedoyoumami

Hesitation and delay

The MVP is ready. I have tested it in the wild and Youmami is able to provide recommendations as I envisioned in the MVP post. However, I am finding it very difficult to start the campaign and "launch" the bot.


There are a few things contributing to this:

  • Asking users to sign-up via an instagram post is cumbersome. Sign-ups should be as easy as possible and asking users to (1) make a new post, and (2) include the #youmami_bot_subscribe is too much. If someone else would ask me to do that I wouldn't do it. Especially if the request comes from a spammy bot.

  • The MVP is raw and basic. The recommendations are ok but many false positives, and there is no automation as I did not want to spend time setting up virtual machines and environments.

  • Asking for donations is a really bad idea. My original intent was to monetize the bot, not to ask for donations. I should have been firm on this.

I have not launched my campaign. As a result, I am late by 1 week according to the original plan for #costarting.


To address the two concerns above, I did the following:

  • Created a basic sign-up form on the blog front page: https://canedoyoumami.wixsite.com/website. This will hopefully give the potential users a familiar interface. I get the subscriptions via email and I can manually add them to the database for Youmami to give the recommendations.

  • Without users, or just a few users, automation is not critical. I will run the recommender once a week from my personal computer. I will add the new subscriptions to the database manually. This will allow me to focus on further improving the functionality and add automation step by step.

  • I linked the Paypal cohort's money pool in my landing page: https://www.paypal.com/pools/c/8vK1qzC0jW. However, I will not ask for donations. I think this is a dumb idea. I'll give a free weekly subscription to the early adopters for 1 year.

With a more reasonable plan in place, I feel more confident to launch the campaign and create awareness. In retrospective, I should have started with the campaign and then implement the basic functionality. This would have allowed me to validate early and refine the idea in the available time.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Youmami v1 - CoStarting Recap

The goal when joining the CoStarting cohort 01 was to create and launch Youmami within a month. I am happy to report that it happened. To the best of my knowledge, Youmami is the first Instagram bot t

Minimum Viable Product

These are the requirements for the MVP: Easy subscription to hashtags via Instagram. Recipe finding per hashtag. Individualized notification for subscribed users via Instagram. 1. Easy subscription I

Finding real recipes on Instagram

Youmami will be written in Python. I found two very promising packages that interact with the Instagram API to pull and push data. Instaloader seems to be focused on pulling data. It has 2.4k stars o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page